you need javascript enabled to use this site

Kirknewton Parish Council. February 21st meeting. :  details

another random video ... Walking on the West Hill

Posted by Pat Edwards

Kirknewton Parish Council


Minutes of a meeting held on 21st February 2017 at the Village Hall at 2.00pm



Present: Cllrs. Edward Brown (Chairman), Steve Marriott, Helen and Andy Blowers,

Kay Aisthorpe, County Cllr. Anthony Murray, Clerk Angela Hallam-Baker.


1.  Apologies for absence were received from Cllr. John Lloyd.


2.  Police Report:  no report.   Cllr. Murray reported that a new officer for this area will be appointed in due course.


3.  The minutes of the meeting held on 17th January 2017 were agreed and signed.


4.  Matters arising from the minutes:

  • Byway open to all traffic at Yeavering – nothing further to report.


5.  Financial Report:  

There were no further transactions since the last meeting and the credit balance remains at £1,416.55.


6.  NNPA Local Plan Issues Consultation:

The Northumberland National Park Authority has begun the process of reviewing its Local Plan and requests views of the parish council and residents.   A meeting for parish councillors is scheduled for Wednesday, 1st March 2017, from 4.30pm to 7.30pm at Ingram Village Hall, but a more local meeting open also to residents and businesses will take place at Kirknewton Village Hall on Thursday, 6th April from 2.00pm to 5.00pm.

Cllr. Aisthorpe had received a letter from the Soil Association, requesting comments on forest management carried out by Border Consultants Forestry Ltd. at Grid reference NT953282 in the College Valley.   A feedback form was attached to be returned by 28/02/2017.

It was agreed that the Parish Council was not qualified to comment on forest management, but it was concerned at the condition of the roads caused by endless logging trucks.   It was therefore agreed that the clerk should complete and return the form together with a covering letter.


7.  County Councillor’s Report:

Cllr. Murray said there was nothing to report from County Hall, but he did say that there is trouble with parking at Wooler Middle School, to which problem there did not appear to be a solution.

Cllr. Murray was asked to report specific potholes on the B6351 road on the Kirknewton side of the Gefrin Monument, and on the U1118 on the right turn after Westnewton.   Circles had been painted round various spots where the road surface is breaking up, and it was assumed that these are on the list to be re-filled.

Cllr. Murray was also asked to enquire whether a facility could be made in the village for the collection of glass bottles and jars.


8.  Correspondence:

  • Planning Enforcement – this section of the NCC website has been updated to facilitate reporting planning breaches and to provide a brief overview of what the team do.   The officer in charge for this area is Liz O’Brien based at the Berwick Office.
  • HospiceCare –  general information and letter requesting donation.   It was confirmed that this Parish Council does not make donations to outside bodies.


9.  Any other business:

  • Parish council elections – these are scheduled for 4th May 2017 and information is expected to be received from NCC early in March.   Since three of the current parish councillors, including the chairman, have stated that they will not stand for re-election, there is concern that there will not be a report on the previous year at the Annual General Meeting on 11th May.   Consequently, Cllr. Brown was asked to submit a report to be read out by the new chairman.
  • War Graves sign – this has been posted on the churchyard gate opposite the Village Hall.
  • Broadband speeds – since these are still very slow, it was agreed to make another approach to Anne-Marie Trevelyan MP.   The clerk is due to see her Chief-of-Staff, Tom Forrester, on 9th March, when she will mention this to him and invite him to the next KPC meeting.


10.  Date of next meeting:  Tuesday, 21st March 2017, at the Village Hall at 2.00pm.








comments are public! private message article creator, The Village Hall